[09-20-2023] Riverside County, CA – 42-Year-Old Pedestrian Killed Following Hit-And-Run by Car in Jurupa Valley

Published September 22, 2023

[09-20-2023] 42-Year-Old Pedestrian Killed Following Hit-And-Run by Car in Jurupa ValleyA 42-year-old pedestrian was struck and killed by a car after a hit-and-run in Jurupa Valley on Wednesday afternoon, September 20, 2023.

Deputies from the Riverside County Sheriff’s Office responded to the incident around 3:30 p.m. along the 5000 block of Mission Boulevard.

The pedestrian was found lying in the roadway and was pronounced dead on the scene. The victim was identified as Jamie P. of Jurupa Valley.

Initial investigations revealed that the vehicle driven by the suspect was a white 2012 Toyota Corolla. Officers are now on high alert, searching for the white Toyota with a damaged front passenger side hood and windshield.

Authorities are searching for the vehicle and driver responsible for the crash, but further details are still unavailable while investigations are ongoing.

Anyone with information contributing to the investigation is urged to contact local authorities.

Award-Winning Hit-and-Run Accident Lawyers in Jurupa Valley, Riverside County

It is beneficial and ideal to seek legal counsel from a personal injury attorney if you or someone you know has been involved in a car accident due to another person’s negligence.

Our experienced hit-and-run accident lawyers provide free initial consultations where we assess the specific circumstances of your case, explain the legal procedures involved, and consider essential factors that could impact the potential compensation you may be eligible to receive.

You can rely on our award-winning Riverside County hit-and-run attorneys at Arash Law, under Arash Khorsandi, Esq., to help you with your insurance claim or represent you in court proceedings effectively. We have recovered more than $500 Million for California clients and are widely acknowledged for its success and reputation as one of California’s leading personal injury law firms.

If you want to speak with one of our lawyers, please call (888) 488-1391 or fill out the “Do I Have a Case?” form.

arash law - free police report - desktop 2

What To Do After A Hit-And-Run Accident

If you are involved in a crash with a driver who flees the scene, you can take particular steps to protect your ability to recover a settlement. The steps you choose can help authorities to catch the driver, and they can help to establish your claim for damages. Those actions consist of:

  1. Collect as much info as possible while at the scene of the accident. Depending on your condition, you might be able to get the car’s license plate number, model, and vehicle color. If you can not note this info, you need to at least attempt to snap a few photos of the car (maybe using your cell phone).
  2. Call the police as soon as possible. The quicker you report the accident to authorities, the faster they can act to arrest the driver. Also, when you call the police, you develop a record of the accident. Within a few days, you can order a collision report from the police station that took it or through the California DMV. This record will assist you later when you submit a claim.
  3. Get the names and contact info of any witnesses. You need to keep in mind that individuals who witness an accident may stay to check on your condition, but after the police and ambulance show up, they may quickly leave. Make sure to get their names and phone numbers as soon as possible. Witnesses could play a crucial role. For example, a witness might verify that another vehicle did collide with your car.
  4. Get immediate medical attention. You need to see a doctor as soon as possible for your well-being and get examined for any injuries. Furthermore, if you see a doctor, it produces a record of your injuries. As you improve, you need to stick to your medical professional’s treatment plan.
  5. Report the crash to your own insurance company. While you ought to do this as fast as possible, you need to make sure to stick with the facts. You do not have to admit or designate any fault. Plus, you should not give a recorded statement or accept a settlement agreement until you have talked to a California hit and run lawyer about your case.


Fatal Hit-and-Run Accident Statistics

Leaving the scene of an accident without rendering aid or reporting it is a criminal offense in the United States.

In 2015, there were 737,100 documented hit-and-run accidents in the US, which equates to about one accident every 43 seconds, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

Hit-and-run incidents claimed the lives of 2,049 people in 2016, a record number. The California Department of Motor Vehicles reports that 2,948 hit-and-run incidents resulted in 3,056 fatalities from 2010 to 2019. These statistics reveal a significantly higher incidence of such occurrences than in other states.