[09-20-2023] Humboldt County, CA – 67-Year-Old Pedestrian Killed Following DUI Hit-and-Run Collision on Highway 101

Published September 22, 2023

[09-20-2023] 67-Year-Old Pedestrian Killed Following DUI Hit-and-Run Collision on Highway 101A 67-year-old pedestrian was killed after a DUI hit-and-run collision near Richardson Grove State Park, Humboldt County, on Wednesday afternoon, September 20, 2023.

According to the California Highway Patrol, the incident occurred on Highway 101, south of the Richardson Grove State Park entrance, at around 1:30 p.m.

Authorities reported that 53-year-old Leggett resident Earl C. was driving a 2010 black Toyota Tundra when he struck the pedestrian standing on the west dirt shoulder. The victim from Carmichael was pronounced dead at the scene.

The driver fled southbound, and when CHP personnel arrived at the location, they found vehicle debris that allowed them to identify the vehicle. They located the suspect with the help of CalTrans employees. The suspect did not yield to authorities, and a chase ensued.

Officials cornered the suspect and determined that the vehicle damage matched the evidence at the scene of the collision. He was subsequently arrested for DUI and other charges.

Dedicated Humboldt County Hit-and-Run Accident Attorneys Specializing in DUI Accidents

In order to recover damages and achieve justice after a hit-and-run accident, you should pursue all legal remedies that are available to you. A lawsuit may be filed, or an insurance claim may be submitted.

Undoubtedly, others’ negligence or indifference will result in serious injuries or property damage. In such cases, you may benefit from the services of a personal injury lawyer.

Contact our seasoned legal team today for a free consultation. We will thoroughly examine your case and advise you on how to proceed.

You can count on the advice of our trusted Humboldt County hit-and-run accident lawyers specializing in DUI accidents, at Arash Law, headed by Arash Khorsandi, Esq., to help you with your claim or effectively represent you in court proceedings.

Our firm has recovered over $500 Million for California clients and is widely acknowledged for its success and reputation as one of California’s best personal injury law firms.

If you want to speak with one of our lawyers, please call (888) 488-1391 or fill out the “Do I Have a Case?” form.

arash law - free police report - desktop 2

What to Do After A Hit-and-Run Accident

While the at-fault driver may have fled the scene, it does not mean they cannot be found. You can help the authorities find and detain the hit-and-run driver by following the steps below. You can also use this information to improve your case if you file a lawsuit for damages. The following guidelines can help you if you are the victim of a hit-and-run:

  1. Check yourself and any passengers for injuries. Move to a safe location away from traffic.
  2. Call 911 to report the accident and request medical assistance. Be sure to inform the dispatcher that it’s a hit-and-run.
  3. Write down as many details as possible about the fleeing vehicle, including its make, model, color, license plate number (even a partial plate can be helpful), and any distinctive features.
  4. Obtain the contact information of the witnesses. They may have seen the accident and be willing to provide statements to the police.
  5. Take photos of the scene of the accident, your vehicle, and any visible injuries. These can serve as evidence later.
  6. Report the hit-and-run to the local police and provide them with all your information about the other vehicle.
  7. Contact your insurance company to report the accident. They can guide you on the next steps for filing a claim.
  8. Get medical help immediately, even if you think you don’t need it. Complications may arise later on.
  9. Preserve any evidence of the accident, such as damaged clothing or personal belongings. This could be important for your claim.
  10. Consult a hit-and-run attorney in California. They can help you navigate the legal process and maximize your chances of compensation.


Fatal Hit-and-Run Accident Statistics

Leaving the scene of an accident without assisting the victims or reporting it to the authorities is illegal and unethical in the United States.

According to a report, from 2010 to 2019, 3,056 people in California lost their lives due to 2,948 recorded deadly hit-and-run collisions. This shows California still has one of the highest fatality rates in the country among other states.

About 737,100 accidents involving hit-and-run drivers were reported in 2015, according to NHTSA. This equates to roughly one hit-and-run accident occurring every 43 seconds in the United States. The record number of people killed in hit-and-run accidents occurred in 2016, with 2,049.